Saturday, June 26, 2010

Sharon Drucker is the new head coach of Aris

He signed a contract for one season with the option of another.

As predicted, Sharon Drucker is going to be the head coach or Aris Thessaloniki. It was revealed by the president of Aris BC, Ioannis Damianidis, during a radio interview yesterday afternoon on ArisFM. Damianidis said that it is Drucker that will be the head coach and that it will be announced during the day or the next day. It was announced later that day. The official announcement says that there is a deal for one season but if Aris manage to qualify for next season's Euroleague there is an option for another season that will extend their cooperation. Needless to say here that the players' budget of Aris will be reduced by a lot this season, possibly down to 1 million euros. This will make things more difficult for Drucker but chances are players will be borrowed by Maccabi Tel Aviv in order to make his life easier. The deal was struck with the blessings of David Blatt who is still working closely with Aris on some levels.

Below follows the official announcement of the team's website.

ARIS BSA announces one-year agreement with Sharon Drucker, who is going to be the new head coach of the team. The Israeli coach is arriving in Thessaloniki on Monday (28/06) at 09:00 o’ clock in the morning.

The official presentation of the new coach of Aris, Sharon Drucker will take place on Monday (28/06) at 13:00 o’ clock.

His career in coaching:

As assistant coach:
1996-1999: Maccabi Raanana(Israel)
2008-2009: Maccabi Tel Aviv(Israel)
2009-2010: Maccabi Tel Aviv(Israel)

As head coach:
1999-2002: Maccabi Raanana(Israel)
2002-2003: Hapoel Galil Elyon(Ιsrael)
2003-2005: Hapoel Jerusalem(Ιsrael)
2005-2006: Ural Great(Russia)
2006-2007: Lietuvos Rytas(Lithuania)
2006-2008: Oostende(Belgium)

Major achievements:
- Coach of the year in Israel with Maccabi Raanana in 2000
- Coach of the year in Israel with Hapoel Galil Elyon in 2003
- Uleb Cup winner with Hapoel Jerusalem in 2004
- Eurocup Challenge champion with Ural Great in 2006
- Belgian League champion with Oostende in 2007
- Belgian Cup winner with Oostende in 2008
- Israeli League winner with Maccabi Tel Aviv in 2009
- Israeli Cup winner with Maccabi Tel Aviv in 2010

source :

Click here to return to the homepage.
Post a Comment